top of page

Notice of Public Hearing

When: July 18, 2023 at 1:00 PM

Where: Okanogan Conservation District office 1251 2nd Ave South, Okanogan, WA 98840

Purpose: The district will take written and verbal comment on this proposed increase of the current rates and charges.

More information about the proposed increase and district services can be obtained by contacting Craig Nelson at the Okanogan Conservation District at (509) 846-6216 or by e-mail at

There will be a special board meeting following the hearing at 2:00 PM, this meeting is open to the public and you can attend in person at the district office or via teams: Click here to join the meeting (different from the link above)



What are rates and charges?

This is an annual conservation charge that is paid with other county taxes once per year. These dollars contribute to local funding for the district which allows us to apply for grant funding and cover operational costs to continue being a resource for our communities.

How much are rates and charges?

The current charge is an annual amount of $.05 cents per acre and $2.56 per parcel, totaling an average cost of $2.61 per year for someone who has one acre and one parcel.

The proposed increase will roughly double the current rate, totaling less than $5.22 per year.

Who contributes to rates and charges?

Residents within the district boundaries pay an annual rate and charge.

District Boundaries -

(All of unincorporated Okanogan County, tribal land, and incorporated cities and towns are currently in the district boundary. Cities and towns can opt-in or opt-out of the boundary at any time. Residents who reside in these areas within the district boundary, have access to all district services, resources, planning assistance, and financial opportunities).

If you live in an incorporated city or town that is not currently annexed into the district and you would like your area to annex into the district boundary and receive access to district services, please contact us to learn more!

Cities and Towns NOT annexed into the district:

Oroville, Tonasket, Riverside, Twisp, Brewster, Pateros

Cities and Towns in the district:

Conconully, Omak (recently voted to annex, pending), Okanogan, Winthrop, Nespelem, Elmer City, Coulee, Dam, and all of unincorporated Okanogan County.

For more information, contact: Emmy Engle at or 509-429-5272.


Recent Posts
bottom of page